The Blatt

Daily Reyd

• A Lamm – Why the cultural elite truly despises Hanukkah https://nypost.com/2020/12/09/why-the-cultural-elite-truly-despises-hanukkah/ • A Lamm – Make America Good Again https://www.firstthings.com/web-exclusives/2020/12/make-america-good-again • M Schiffman – Does Judaism Champion Mindfulness? https://www.jewishpress.com/judaism/does-judaism-champion-mindfulness/2020/12/10/ • SCOTUS ruling allows damages over religious freedom https://forward.com/fast-forward/460097/supreme-court-religious-freedom-ruling-clarence-thomas/ • A Josephs – Letter To The New Yorker Editor: “When One Parent Leaves a Hasidic Community…” https://jewinthecity.com/2020/12/letter-to-the-new-yorker-editor-when-one-parent-leaves-a-hasidic-community/  

Read More »

Daily Reyd

• Why Data Matters: A Conversation with Social Scientist Matt Williams https://jewishaction.com/jewish-world/why-data-matters-a-conversation-with-social-scientist-matt-williams/ • De Blasio threatens to close Satmar Headquarters https://forward.com/fast-forward/459939/de-blasio-satmar-headquarters-closure-threat/ • Orthodox growth in Jackson leads to school board win https://forward.com/news/national/459978/jackson-new-jersey-lakewood-election-school-board/ • A Catholic Tribute to Lord Sacks https://www.firstthings.com/web-exclusives/2020/12/a-catholic-tribute-to-lord-sacks  

Read More »

Daily Reyd

• M Hauer – The New Normal: To Accept, To Reject, or To Embrace https://jewishaction.com/from-the-desk-of-rabbi-moshe-hauer/the-new-normal-to-accept-to-reject-or-to-embrace/ • M Bane – Observations of a Kavod Maven https://jewishaction.com/preidents-message/observations-of-a-kavod-maven/ • I really don’t care who offers help and insight in learning Torah but if I don’t get value, I will quickly stop learning a text or commentary (assuming the person is frum, otherwise there are other limitations I ...

Read More »

Daily Reyd

• R Neuwirth – The Israeli-Arab Conflict: A Spiritual Perspective https://traditiononline.org/the-israeli-arab-conflict-a-spiritual-perspective/ • ‘Goodbye to Hannukah,’ Says a Headline in the Post-Judaism New York Times https://www.algemeiner.com/2020/12/06/goodbye-to-hannukah-says-a-headline-in-the-post-judaism-new-york-times/ • Ex-Hasidic couple lose case against Quebec government over inadequate education https://www.thestar.com/news/canada/2020/12/03/ex-hasidic-couple-lose-case-against-quebec-government-over-inadequate-education.html • A tribute to mark the completion of Shloshim for Rabbi Lord Jonathan Sacks https://rabbisacks.org/shloshim/

Read More »

Daily Reyd

• D Alter – The Future of Our Shuls Post-Pandemic https://jewishlink.news//features/40887-the-future-of-our-shuls-post-pandemic • Betsy DeVos loved religious education — what will happen to Jewish schools under Biden? https://forward.com/news/459597/on-education-policy-orthodox-groups-must-return-to-earth-after-high-of/

Read More »

Daily Reyd

• M Helfand – What does the Supreme Court decision actually change for synagogues in COVID hot spots? It’s complicated. https://www.jta.org/2020/12/02/opinion/what-does-the-supreme-court-decision-actually-change-for-synagogues-in-covid-hot-spots-its-complicated • The pandemic is making visible how important religious liberty is to Orthodox Jews in America https://www.jta.org/2020/12/02/politics/the-pandemic-is-making-visible-how-important-religious-liberty-is-to-orthodox-jews-in-america • Don’t divorce her: Rabbi’s letter to Henry VIII at heart of British Library show https://www.timesofisrael.com/dont-divorce-her-rabbis-letter-to-henry-viii-at-heart-of-british-library-show/

Read More »

Daily Reyd

• Politically conservative – Conservative Jews like me are being chased out of synagogues https://forward.com/scribe/459392/conservative-jews-like-me-are-being-chased-out-of-synagogues/ • R A Shafran – The real reason so many Orthodox Jews voted for Trump https://forward.com/opinion/459338/the-real-reason-so-many-orthodox-jews-voted-for-trump/ • When expressing traditional religious beliefs is considered hateful – UK rabbi, accused of homophobia, sues two local town councillors https://www.patheos.com/blogs/thefreethinker/2020/12/uk-rabbi-accused-of-homophobia-sues-two-local-town-councillors/ • How Can Jewish Institutions Adapt to the Pandemic Revolution? https://jewishjournal.com/commentary/325488/how-can-jewish-institutions-adapt-to-the-pandemic-revolution/

Read More »

Daily Reyd

Today is “Giving Tuesday.” Please consider donating to your local shuls and communal organizations that are suffering severe financial difficulties now. • Y Levine, a rabbi who was not in the red zone and wasn’t subject to the 10-person restriction being discussed – The Supreme Court’s repeal of synagogue restrictions won’t change anything for Orthodox congregations like mine https://www.jta.org/2020/11/30/opinion/the-supreme-courts-repeal-of-synagogue-restrictions-wont-change-anything-for-orthodox-congregations-like-mine • Ayelet ...

Read More »

Daily Reyd

• Y Jaffe – Modern Technology Meets Tehum Shabbat https://thelehrhaus.com/scholarship/modern-technology-meets-tehum-shabbat/ • Y Blau – The Pitfalls of Facebook Discourse https://blogs.timesofisrael.com/the-pitfalls-of-facebook-discourse/  

Read More »

Daily Reyd

• Outdoor Minyanim Will Continue Through Winter https://jewishlink.news//community-news/bergen/40769-outdoor-minyanim-will-continue-through-winter • Concern over this phenomenon plays an important role in Charedi behavior during the pandemic – For some ultra-Orthodox Jews, virus forges path to a very different lifestyle https://www.timesofisrael.com/for-some-ultra-orthodox-jews-virus-forges-path-to-a-very-different-lifestyle/ • The editor of the 5TJT has the last word against the former editor of the Jewish Week – The Jewish Week, OB’M http://www.5tjt.com/bagel-store-the-jewish-week-obm/ • Eiruvim Come To Queens https://www.queensjewishlink.com/index.php/local/26-community-corner/3554-eiruvim-come-to-queens ...

Read More »