News

Daily Reyd

• When Freedom of Religion, the Rights of Parents, and the Government’s Education Policies Come into Conflict https://mosaicmagazine.com/picks/religion-holidays/2021/01/when-freedom-of-religion-the-rights-of-parents-and-the-governments-education-policies-come-into-conflict/ • WHEN HISTORY IS HIS STORY A Review of R. Dovid Kamenetsky’s “Rabeinu Chaim Ozer: Raban Shel Kol B’nei Ha’goleh” https://seforimblog.com/2021/01/when-history-is-his-story/ • Our story, a response to Hollywood’s portrayal of the formerly Orthodox https://www.jpost.com/opinion/our-story-a-response-to-hollywoods-portrayal-of-the-formerly-orthodox-655689  

Read More »

Daily Reyd

• Vaccinate in houses of worship – COVID-19 vaccine: Government, the faith community is ready to partner; give us a shot https://www.usatoday.com/story/opinion/2021/01/15/faith-community-can-host-covid-19-vaccine-sites-across-u-s/4167153001/ • E Schwartz – A Call for Moral Clarity https://yuobserver.org/2021/01/a-call-for-moral-clarity/ • Y Hazony – The Capitol Riot https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FoUmz9DQOyw&feature=youtu.be&ab_channel=NationalConservatism • M Soloveichik and R Douthat – A Rabbi and a Catholic Writer Discuss America’s Spiritual Crisis https://mosaicmagazine.com/picks/history-ideas/2021/01/a-rabbi-and-a-catholic-writer-discuss-americas-spiritual-crisis/  

Read More »

Daily Reyd

• R A Lopiansky on the Capitol takeover – Gone Missing https://mishpacha.com/gone-missing/ • A congressional staffer reflects on religion and Trumpism. Non-denominational until the last paragraph or two, which are minimally Christian – God & Capitol https://juicyecumenism.com/2021/01/12/will-derrick/ • Clergy don’t get vaccination priority in California https://forward.com/news/national/461947/in-california-rabbis-ask-why-clergy-arent-in-first-or-second-group-for/ • Securing Internet Communications in 2021 – A Layman’s Guide http://nleresources.com/2021/01/securing-internet-communications-in-year-2021-a-laymans-guide/ • Conflict over Capitol mob coverage roils Jewish ...

Read More »

Daily Reyd

• Orthodox Judaism and the Pandemic: How Religion Affects Response https://elemental.medium.com/orthodox-judaism-and-the-pandemic-how-religion-affects-response-31edea97fb8f • This is very important – America needs healing, not more partisan warfare https://www.jns.org/opinion/america-needs-healing-not-more-partisan-warfare/ • The ongoing transformation of Jewish media – JTA’s parent company acquires the NY Jewish Week https://www.jta.org/2021/01/11/united-states/jtas-parent-company-acquires-the-ny-jewish-week/ • The Long Journey Home of Ethiopian Jewry http://www.5tjt.com/the-long-journey-home-of-ethiopian-jewry/

Read More »

Daily Reyd

• Clean Hands by Shalom Carmy https://www.firstthings.com/article/2021/01/clean-hands • IMPORTANT – READ THIS: Should We Be Leaving WhatsApp? https://www.theyeshivaworld.com/news/headlines-breaking-stories/1937297/important-read-this-should-we-be-leaving-whatsapp.html • Why Data Matters: A Conversation with Social Scientist Matt Williams https://jewishaction.com/jewish-world/why-data-matters-a-conversation-with-social-scientist-matt-williams/

Read More »

Daily Reyd

• A student reflects on the influence and methodology of Rav Yehuda Herzl Henkin – Initial Thoughts on R. Henkin as Posek https://traditiononline.org/initial-thoughts-on-r-henkin-as-posek/ • Y Hoffman – The Attack on the Capital and Halacha https://vosizneias.com/2021/01/07/the-attack-on-the-capital-and-halacha/ • The left eats its own – Another kind of pain… calling out Rabbi Avi Weiss https://blogs.timesofisrael.com/another-kind-of-pain-calling-out-rabbi-avi-weiss/ • P Lerner – My Thoughts About Jonathan Pollard https://www.jewishpress.com/indepth/opinions/my-thoughts-about-jonathan-pollard/2021/01/07/ • Rabbi Kanievsky calls for ultra-Orthodox ...

Read More »

Daily Reyd

• N Lewin – Religious observance redux https://www.jns.org/opinion/religious-observance-redux/ • How ancient Jewish law has influenced pedestrian planning in West Rogers Park https://chi.streetsblog.org/2021/01/05/how-ancient-jewish-law-has-influenced-pedestrian-planning-in-west-rogers-park/ • Vol. 2, No. 1: January 2021 · Reviews in Digital Humanities  https://reviewsindh.pubpub.org/v2-n1

Read More »

Daily Reyd

• Dr E Brown – Friendship After COVID https://www.firstthings.com/web-exclusives/2021/01/friendship-after-covid • US immigration to Israel holds up in 2020 despite pandemic, and interest is surging https://www.jta.org/2021/01/04/israel/us-immigration-to-israel-holds-up-in-2020-despite-pandemic-and-interest-is-surging • The Age of Anxiety https://jewishaction.com/health/wellness-report/the-age-of-anxiety/

Read More »

Daily Reyd

• R Eis – Kosher Slaughter and True Religious Freedom https://www.firstthings.com/web-exclusives/2021/01/kosher-slaughter-and-true-religious-freedom • When Jewish Women Took to the Streets for Affordable Kosher Meat https://mosaicmagazine.com/picks/history-ideas/2021/01/when-jewish-women-took-to-the-streets-for-affordable-kosher-meat/ • One the sea change in the lives of Israeli Charedi women – “Noble Women”: Matter and Spirit in the Lives of Charedi Women https://iyun.org.il/en/article/the-charedi-noble-woman/ • Counterpoint on the same subject – Keeping Hold of What We’ve Got https://iyun.org.il/en/article/the-charedi-noble-woman/hold-on-to-what-weve-got/

Read More »