News

Daily Reyd

• R DZ Feldman – IP Halakhah https://blogs.yu.edu/news/ip-halakhah/ • R A Males – Singing the Hadassim Blues in Memphis | Everyday Jewish Living | OU Life https://www.ou.org/life/holidays/sukkot/singing-the-hadassim-blues-in-memphis/ • R E Krakowski – What Did the Rabbis Have to Say About Anti-Semitism? https://jewishaction.com/jewish-world/what-did-the-rabbis-have-to-say-about-anti-semitism/ • R Z Eleff – Youth and the YU Idea https://yucommentator.org/2019/10/youth-and-the-yu-idea/ • R A Lamm – Israel’s Political ...

Read More »

Daily Reyd

• SCOTUS Considers Religious Liberty-LGBT Rights Balance https://www.christianitytoday.com/news/2019/october/scotus-lgbt-rights-religious-liberty-bostock-zarda-harris.html • Troublesome development. Always buy a mezuzah with a good hechsher – The ranks of women serving as soferot, or female scribes who write holy texts, grows https://www.jewishexponent.com/2019/10/08/the-growing-ranks-of-female-scribes/ • F Nataf – Time for a crash course on religious toleration https://blogs.timesofisrael.com/time-for-a-crash-course-on-religious-toleration/ • Tea lights – Responsum: Best to light electric candles in ...

Read More »

Daily Reyd

• Why YU Needs a Rosh Yeshiva https://yucommentator.org/2019/10/why-yu-needs-a-rosh-yeshiva/ • Working for JOFA – Second Orthodox woman rabbi takes teaching role in London https://www.thejc.com/news/uk-news/second-orthodox-woman-rabbi-takes-teaching-role-in-london-1.489845 • Can we keep Trump out of Yom Kippur? https://www.jns.org/opinion/can-we-keep-trump-out-of-yom-kippur/ • Some 68,000 secular and religious Israelis to pray together on Yom Kippur – Jewish Telegraphic Agency https://www.jta.org/quick-reads/some-68000-secular-and-religious-israelis-to-pray-together-on-yom-kippur • Civil Court Can’t Decide What “Torah Law” Means, ...

Read More »

Daily Reyd

• I’ve been saying this for years. Women not counting for a minyan cannot and will not stand among the Open Orthodox – Tenth for a minyan https://blogs.timesofisrael.com/tenth-for-a-minyan/ • I’m not sure whether this is good or bad – Rabbinate DNA tests seek Jewishness in the blood, become a bone of contention https://www.timesofisrael.com/rabbinate-dna-tests-seek-jewishness-in-the-blood-become-a-bone-of-contention/ • One non-Orthodox rabbi’s idiosyncratic views on ...

Read More »

Daily Reyd

• D Bashevkin in WSJ – #MeToo Should Include #SinToo https://www.wsj.com/articles/metoo-should-include-sintoo-11570142981 • Technology Lessons From Recent Headlines http://www.jewishlinknj.com/features/33656-technology-lessons-from-recent-headlines • The idea that God — or someone — is always watching comes to life with technology https://religionnews.com/2019/10/03/the-idea-that-god-or-someone-is-always-watching-comes-to-life-with-technology/ • A Home Smart System That Helps With Religious Observances https://www.wsj.com/articles/a-home-smart-system-that-helps-with-religious-observances-11570026331 • Porn Culture and Political Courage | Terry Schilling https://www.firstthings.com/web-exclusives/2019/10/porn-culture-and-political-courage • A Folger ...

Read More »

Daily Reyd

• Amen ve-amen – Y Aumann – Yeshivas Must Be Held Accountable to Provide a Secular Education https://www.algemeiner.com/2019/10/03/yeshivas-must-be-held-accountable-to-provide-a-secular-education/ • Avital C-G: ‘I’m Not Really Supposed To Be Here’: Orthodox Mothers On Nursing In Shul https://forward.com/life/faith/432548/breastfeeding-orthodox-synagogue/ • Rise of the vegan Jew https://www.cjnews.com/food/rise-of-the-vegan-jew • Over 130,000 Jews of Sephardic heritage applied for Spanish citizenship under law of return https://www.jta.org/quick-reads/over-130000-jews-of-sephardic-heritage-applied-for-spanish-citizenship-under-law-of-return • A ...

Read More »

Daily Reyd

• Refuah shelemah – J Rosenblum – Catching My Breath At Sinai On Rosh Hashanah https://forward.com/culture/432422/catching-my-breath-at-sinai-on-rosh-hashanah/ • D Bashevkin – Rosh Hashanah is how we prove our humanity. Are you ready? https://www.jta.org/2019/09/27/opinion/rosh-hashanah-is-how-we-prove-our-humanity-are-you-ready • This should be obvious but sadly is not – Religion for Adults Means Embracing Complexity https://www.wsj.com/articles/religion-for-adults-means-embracing-complexity-11569599979 • Rabbis join call to cut single-use plastic, starting with religious ...

Read More »

Daily Reyd

• Chief Rabbi urges more ‘menschedik’ behaviour amid ‘toxic’ Brexit atmosphere https://jewishnews.timesofisrael.com/chief-rabbi-urges-more-menschedik-behaviour-amid-toxic-brexit-atmosphere/ • Depends on how you define Jewish – Jewish population worldwide hits 14.8 million ahead of Rosh Hashanah https://www.jns.org/jewish-population-worldwide-hits-14-8-million-ahead-of-rosh-hashanah/ • Don’t Enjoy Being Single https://www.jewishpress.com/indepth/opinions/dont-enjoy-being-single/2019/09/26/ • A bee-keeping rabbi explains what the buzz is all about https://www.jns.org/a-bee-keeping-rabbi-explains-what-the-buzz-is-all-about/ • Creating options and opportunities for haredi youth to serve in ...

Read More »

Daily Reyd

• Jury Finds Rabbi Greer Guilty https://www.newhavenindependent.org/index.php/archives/entry/greer_criminal_verdict/ • Joachim Gans, the First Practicing Jew to Set Foot in North America, Finally Gets His Due https://www.smithsonianmag.com/history/americas-first-practicing-jew-america-finally-gets-his-due-180973186/ • YUTorah Online – Rosh Hashana and Yom Kippur To-Go https://www.yutorah.org/togo/roshhashana/ • Rabbi evicted from Krakow synagogue must be allowed back, Polish court rules https://www.jta.org/quick-reads/rabbi-evicted-from-krakow-synagogue-must-be-allowed-back-polish-court-rules • Interesting Christian perspective – Another Look at the ‘Least ...

Read More »

Daily Reyd

• Over 1,100 synagogues to provide young Jewish people with free High Holidays seats https://www.jta.org/quick-reads/over-1100-synagogues-to-provide-young-jewish-people-with-free-high-holidays-seats • Probably the wisest response. Anything else other than total capitulation will be spun against him – Women of the Wall reach out to Rabbi Rabinowitz… who doesn’t reply https://www.jpost.com/Israel-News/Women-of-the-Wall-reach-out-to-Rabbi-Rabinowitz-who-doesnt-reply-602704

Read More »