News

Daily Reyd

• Sephardi legacy to be newly emphasized in Murcia region of southern Spain https://www.jns.org/sephardi-legacy-to-be-emphasized-in-region-of-southern-spain/ • The Rabbinical Alliance of America Calls For Reopening Schools Safely In The New School Year https://rabbinicalalliance.org/2020/08/02/the-rabbinical-alliance-of-america-calls-for-reopening-schools-safely-in-the-new-school-year/ • A Schick – Biden needs to bring religious Americans into the Democratic fold https://thehill.com/opinion/civil-rights/510650-biden-needs-to-bring-religious-americans-into-the-democratic-fold • Major correction to psychiatric study of gender transitioning – https://twitter.com/ryantand/status/1290286103979671557 • Yeshiva teachers ...

Read More »

Daily Reyd

• S Halpern – Love Fest https://www.tabletmag.com/sections/belief/articles/love-fest-tu-bav • N Sharansky and G Troy – Taking a Jewish Approach to U.S. History https://jewishjournal.com/cover_story/319626/taking-a-jewish-approach-to-u-s-history/ • The Jewish Case Against Abortion https://www.firstthings.com/web-exclusives/2020/08/the-jewish-case-against-abortion • Separation of church and state group raises alarm on government aid to religious schools https://forward.com/news/452043/separation-of-church-and-state-group-raises-alarm-on-government-loans-to/ • We run Jewish day schools in NY. To reopen safely, we need our community’s ...

Read More »

Daily Reyd

• Pandemic reinvigorates push to bar pre-Yom Kippur chicken-swinging ritual in NYC https://www.jta.org/quick-reads/pandemic-reinvigorates-push-to-bar-pre-yom-kippur-chicken-swinging-ritual-in-nyc • A Gordimer – Response to An Open Letter – Yes, But… – Cross-Currents https://cross-currents.com/2020/08/02/response-to-an-open-letter-yes-but/ • The Jewish Schools of the Future https://mosaicmagazine.com/essay/politics-current-affairs/2020/08/the-jewish-schools-of-the-future/ • Long interview with Rav Shmuel Kamenetsky, Trump is only a side point – Where Life Comes From https://mishpacha.com/where-life-comes-from/ • Don’t vandalize statues – ...

Read More »

Daily Reyd

• Orthodox Jews debate how to approach the 2020 election http://jewishinsider.com/2020/07/orthodox-jews-debate-how-to-approach-the-2020-election/ • A Schick – Freedom Beats Aid for Religious Schools https://www.wsj.com/articles/freedom-beats-aid-for-religious-schools-11596149266 • Jewish charities fear budget cuts are coming as New York State slows government aid https://forward.com/news/451826/new-york-is-late-on-its-payments-to-jewish-nonprofits-cuomo-coronavirus/ • Time to rethink the financial model of our synagogues – The pandemic’s first High Holiday season has synagogues wondering: Will people pay dues? https://www.jta.org/2020/07/30/united-states/the-coming-pandemic-high-holiday-season-has-synagogues-wondering-will-people-pay-dues  

Read More »

Daily Reyd

• Are families fleeing Jewish day schools? Far from it, but it’s complicated. https://www.jta.org/2020/07/28/united-states/are-families-fleeing-jewish-day-schools-far-from-it-but-its-complicated • I don’t take seriously people who speak apocalyptically every four years – J Tobin – On Tisha B’Av, it’s time for Americans to step back from apocalyptic rhetoric https://www.jns.org/opinion/on-tisha-bav-its-time-for-americans-to-step-back-from-apocalyptic-rhetoric/ • Ask your rabbi and if you don’t have one, listen to Pirkei Avos which says twice to ...

Read More »

Daily Reyd

• Over 100,000 viewers worldwide tune into online Torah event https://www.israelhayom.com/2020/07/28/over-100000-viewers-worldwide-tune-into-online-torah-event/ • For High Holidays, do the unexpected: Double down https://www.jns.org/opinion/for-high-holidays-do-the-unexpected-double-down/

Read More »

Daily Reyd

• What the world can learn from the Orthodox response to COVID https://forward.com/opinion/451402/what-the-world-can-learn-from-the-orthodox-response-to-covid/ • Dr Y Ziegler – The Midrashic Filling of Eikha’s Void https://traditiononline.org/the-midrashic-filling-of-eikhas-void/ • Tisha Be’Av Kumzitz – The New Normal? http://mrlitvak.blogspot.com/2020/07/tisha-beav-kumzitz-new-normal.html • Legislation to increase home care over nursing home care – Honoring the Elderly https://www.firstthings.com/web-exclusives/2020/07/honoring-the-elderly • Wedding officiant sues Ohio county over law forcing ministers to officiate same-sex weddings https://www.christianpost.com/news/wedding-officiant-sues-ohio-country-over-law-forcing-ministers-to-officiate-same-sex-weddings.html

Read More »

Daily Reyd

• S Rindner – The Rabbi Who Chose Trans Orthodoxy https://www.firstthings.com/web-exclusives/2020/07/the-rabbi-who-chose-trans-orthodoxy • JTS sponsored – Longitudinal Study Tracking Jewish Connections Over Two Decades Is Published http://www.jtsa.edu/longitudinal-study-tracking-jewish-connections-over-two-decades-is-published • This is called mission drift. You lose focus from your actual mission and end up being surprised by complete failure because you receive great praise all along – After George Floyd, Jewish institutions ...

Read More »

Daily Reyd

• With Expected Domestic Travel Surge, OU Kosher Publishes Guide for Food & Travel https://www.jns.org/wire/with-expected-domestic-travel-surge-ou-kosher-publishes-guide-for-food-travel/ • Halachic Musings: Is There a Problem With Empire Chicken? http://www.5tjt.com/halachic-musings-is-there-a-problem-with-empire-chicken/ • Interesting thoughts about the impact of non-Orthodox summer camps – Tisha Be’av in the modern age https://www.jpost.com/judaism/tisha-beav-in-the-modern-age-636063 • Organizations petition US Supreme Court to overturn Jewish discrimination case https://www.jns.org/jewish-groups-petition-us-supreme-court-to-overturn-jewish-discrimination-case/

Read More »

Daily Reyd

• Huge Kingdom of Judah government complex found stone’s throw from US Embassy https://www.timesofisrael.com/huge-kingdom-of-judah-government-complex-found-stones-throw-from-us-embassy/ • In Memory of Shmuel Ashkenazi, Bibliographer of the Hebrew Book https://www.tabletmag.com/sections/arts-letters/articles/shmuel-ashkenazi-appreciation • Approved: Foreign Yeshivah Students Can Travel to Israel https://hamodia.com/2020/07/22/approved-foreign-yeshivah-students-can-travel-israel/

Read More »