News

Daily Reyd

• R A Shafran – Covid remote work relaxed fashion and grooming, but not bias based on looks https://www.nbcnews.com/think/opinion/covid-remote-work-relaxed-fashion-grooming-not-bias-based-looks-ncna1275060 • How Coffeehouses Came to Jerusalem https://mosaicmagazine.com/picks/history-ideas/2021/07/how-coffeehouses-came-to-jerusalem/

Read More »

Daily Reyd

• How the Pandemic Helped Me Embrace Being a Rabbi’s Wife https://www.vogue.com/article/how-the-pandemic-helped-me-embrace-being-a-rabbis-wife • Meet the Orthodox Mother of Twelve Who Ran the Office of an Israeli President https://mosaicmagazine.com/picks/religion-holidays/2021/07/meet-the-orthodox-mother-of-twelve-who-ran-the-office-of-an-israeli-president-meet-the-orthodox-mother-of-twelve-who-ran-the-office-of-an-israeli-president/ • Why Does The Ministry Director Have A Photo Of HaGaon HaRav Shteinman, Z’TL? https://www.theyeshivaworld.com/news/headlines-breaking-stories/1993756/why-does-the-ministry-director-have-a-photo-of-hagaon-harav-shteinman-ztl.html  

Read More »

Daily Reyd

• #Myorthodoxlife: Time to Move On to Important Matters https://jewishlink.news//features/45085-myorthodoxlife-time-to-move-on-to-important-matters • Israeli restaurants are changing their kosher certification — and signaling a religious revolution https://www.jta.org/2021/07/22/israel/israeli-restaurants-are-changing-their-kosher-certification-and-signaling-a-religious-revolution • The Massive Theft Case in Far Rockaway/ Five Towns: a Halachic Analysis https://www.theyeshivaworld.com/news/headlines-breaking-stories/1994072/the-massive-theft-case-in-far-rockaway-five-towns-a-halachic-analysis.html  

Read More »

Daily Reyd

• Kosher certification should not be a political weapon https://forward.com/opinion/473326/kosher-certification-should-not-be-a-political-weapon/ • When I was young, I never revealed in job interviews that I was married and had children because of similar discrimination against married men in the corporate world – In the US, some Orthodox women in medicine still plagued by discrimination https://www.timesofisrael.com/in-the-us-some-orthodox-women-in-medicine-still-plagued-by-discrimination/ • Religious affairs minister seeks to reform kosher certification, ...

Read More »

Daily Reyd

• These Orthodox women say Netflix doesn’t speak for them https://forward.com/culture/473214/with-myorthodoxlife-religious-women-say-netflix-doesnt-speak-for-them/ • Does religion make you healthier? https://www.mdlinx.com/physiciansense/does-religion-make-you-healthier/ • On Orthodox liaisons – Vote of Confidence https://mishpacha.com/vote-of-confidence-4/

Read More »

Daily Reyd

• Is Modern Orthodox Kiruv Possible? – https://www.thelehrhaus.com/commentary/is-modern-orthodox-kiruv-possible/ • A Major League Problem https://www.jewishpress.com/review/in-print-review/a-major-league-problem/2021/07/20 • ‘Hate Is More Engaging’: Researchers Make Headway Measuring Antisemitic Propaganda on Social Media https://www.algemeiner.com/2021/07/19/hate-is-more-engaging-researchers-make-headway-measuring-antisemitic-propaganda-on-social-media/ • There are no accidents – A Tale of Two Rabbi Kamenetskys https://collive.com/a-tale-of-two-rabbi-kamenetskys/

Read More »

Daily Reyd

• No seichel. Israeli universities can create programs for Charedim but only if the Charedim are willing to compromise on their religious standards. And then Israelis will complain that Charedim are underrepresented in jobs that require college training. Same with the army. Make it so that Charedim don’t have to compromise their religious standards and you will have more Charedim ...

Read More »

Daily Reyd

• Major League Baseball on Shabbat https://blogs.timesofisrael.com/major-league-baseball-on-shabbat/ • Workplaces Need to Start Supporting Young Motherhood https://www.businessinsider.com/workplaces-support-young-motherhood-declining-birth-rate-2021-7 • Enough with the ‘ex-Orthodox’ drama https://blogs.timesofisrael.com/enough-with-the-ex-orthodox-drama/ • It’s #MyOrthodoxLife and I’m standing up for it https://blogs.timesofisrael.com/its-myorthodoxlife-and-im-standing-up-for-it/

Read More »

Daily Reyd

• A Shafran – Netflix’s ‘My Unorthodox Life’ is an exposé that fails to explain some basic facts https://religionnews.com/2021/07/14/my-unorthodox-life-julia-haart/ • Orthodox groups take over Kotel egalitarian prayer space for Tisha Be’av https://www.jpost.com/israel-news/orthodox-groups-take-over-kotel-egalitarian-prayer-space-for-tisha-beav-673838 • This is outrageous – M Helfand – Kept From Keeping the Sabbath https://www.firstthings.com/web-exclusives/2021/07/kept-from-keeping-the-sabbath • S Zuckier – The Torah u-Madda Journal: An Appreciation https://www.jewishpress.com/sections/features/the-torah-u-madda-journal-an-appreciation/2021/07/14/ • This is the right way to go ...

Read More »

Daily Reyd

• Two members of the Orthodox community were drafted into Major League Baseball, one who will not play on Shabbos and one who will. Not my place to judge them but think about what you will tell your children about the sacrifices they will need to make in their lives – Elie Kligman becomes second Orthodox baseball player drafted into the ...

Read More »