News

Daily Reyd

• M Soloveitchik – Yes, Jews Believe in Heaven https://mosaicmagazine.com/picks/2019/02/yes-jews-believe-in-heaven/ • H Maryles – The Ascendancy of Female Rabbis in Orthodoxy http://haemtza.blogspot.com/2019/02/the-ascendancy-of-female-rabbis-in.html • The head of HODS argues against religious accommodation even though the organization supposedly is open to multiple halachic interpretations – Declared undead: A strange ruling in NY court https://blogs.timesofisrael.com/declared-undead-a-strange-ruling-in-ny-court/

Read More »

Daily Reyd

• Boy on the Temple Roof | Shalom Carmy https://www.firstthings.com/article/2019/03/boy-on-the-temple-roof • The impact of widespread DNA testing – The Disappeared Children of Israel https://www.nytimes.com/2019/02/20/world/middleeast/israel-yemenite-children-affair.html • I love Poland https://blogs.timesofisrael.com/i-love-poland/ • On the impact of childlessness or delayed childbirth on philosophy and society – The rise of the childless class https://www.gnxp.com/WordPress/2019/02/19/the-rise-of-the-childless-class/

Read More »

Daily Reyd

• Korea’s First Mikvah Combines Jewish Values And Asian Aesthetics https://www.theyeshivaworld.com/news/headlines-breaking-stories/1681338/koreas-first-mikvah-combines-jewish-values-and-asian-aesthetics.html • A Luxury Manhattan Developer Appeals To Orthodox Jewish Clientele https://forward.com/life/419235/luxury-manhattan-condo-orthodox-jews/ • OU Hosts First MeetUp For Orthodox Software Developers https://www.ou.org/life/news/ou-hosts-first-meetup-for-orthodox-software-developers

Read More »

Daily Reyd

• New YUTorah App Released https://yucommentator.org/2019/02/new-yutorah-app-released/ • How the Talmud Anticipated Behavioral Economics https://mosaicmagazine.com/picks/2019/02/how-the-talmud-anticipated-behavioral-economics/ • Nearly 4,000 students in the smaller Bobov group – Bobov-45 Readies For Ceremony Celebrating Rededication Of Massive 150,000 Square Ft. School Building https://www.theyeshivaworld.com/news/general/1680535/today-bobov-45-readies-for-ceremony-celebrating-rededication-of-massive-150000-square-ft-school-building-video-photos.html • Atlanta musician ‘Rabbi Jake’ takes the country by storm https://www.jns.org/atlanta-musician-rabbi-jake-takes-the-country-by-storm/ • $55 million to be invested in Jewish Quarter of Old ...

Read More »

Daily Reyd

• D Shabtai – New York’s Abortion Law Is An Abomination https://www.jewishpress.com/indepth/opinions/new-yorks-abortion-law-is-an-abomination/2019/02/13/ • I Mizrahi – Where Do Gedolim Portraits Come From? (Part II) https://www.jewishpress.com/sections/features/features-on-jewish-world/where-do-gedolim-portraits-come-from-part-ii/2019/02/14/ • The limits of Modern Orthodoxy http://www.israelnationalnews.com/Articles/Article.aspx/23452 • Kosher boots on the ground: The rabbi serving in an elite U.S. Army unit https://www.haaretz.com/us-news/.premium.MAGAZINE-the-rabbi-deploying-to-afghanistan-with-his-elite-u-s-army-battalion-1.6937477 • In The Heart Of Oregon — A Kosher Brewery Thrives https://forward.com/food/417401/in-the-heart-of-oregon-a-kosher-brewery-thrives/ ...

Read More »

Daily Reyd

• Military Rabbi Checking Unit’s Eruv Foiled Terrorist Attack https://www.jewishpress.com/news/terrorism-news/military-rabbi-checking-units-eruv-foiled-terrorist-attack/2019/02/14/ • Oxford University in England debating ban on kosher meat https://www.jns.org/oxford-university-in-england-debating-ban-on-kosher-meat/ • Editing Talmudic Encyclopedia, Healing Patients – All In A Day’s Work: An Interview with Dr. Rabbi Avraham Steinberg https://www.jewishpress.com/indepth/interviews-and-profiles/editing-talmudic-encyclopedia-healing-patients-all-in-a-days-work-an-interview-with-dr-rabbi-avraham-steinberg/2019/02/13/ • B Brown – Sexual Abstinence of Married Men Roils Hasidic Sects https://www.tabletmag.com/jewish-arts-and-culture/culture-news/271506/the-kedushah-crisis

Read More »

Daily Reyd

• Open Debate: Is N.Y.’s Abortion Law Halachic? https://jewishjournal.com/analysis/293441/open-debate-is-n-y-s-abortion-law-halachic/ • The earliest surviving photographs of Jerusalem live on in historic exhibit https://www.jta.org/2019/02/12/culture/these-earliest-surviving-photographs-of-jerusalem-live-on-in-historic-exhibit • Why Do Hasidic Men Button Their Shirts The Wrong Way? https://forward.com/life/419198/why-do-hasidic-men-button-their-shirts-the-wrong-way/ • J Levenson – What It Means to Read the Bible as Nothing More than Great Literature https://mosaicmagazine.com/response/2019/02/what-it-means-to-read-the-bible-as-nothing-more-than-great-literature/

Read More »

Daily Reyd

• M Helfand – The Case Against Yeshivas and the Future of Religious Liberty https://www.tabletmag.com/jewish-news-and-politics/280239/the-case-against-yeshivas • The Guide to Jewish Campus Life http://oujlic.org/parentguide • Is there room in L.A. for an Orthodox Jewish ambulance service? City fire says no https://www.latimes.com/local/la-me-hatzolah-20190210-story.html • Jewish Egg Donor Agencies Proliferate To Serve Aspiring Parents https://forward.com/news/419033/infertility-egg-donor-tribe/ • Small bit about “shuckling” during prayer – The ...

Read More »

Daily Reyd

• Open Letter About RCA Members Violating Female Clergy Policy https://cross-currents.com/2019/02/07/open-letter-about-rca-members-violating-female-clergy-policy/ • Heichal Goes to the Met http://www.jewishlinknj.com/schools/29378-heichal-goes-to-the-met • A Shafran – Why Does The World Hate Haredi Jews? https://forward.com/opinion/418734/why-does-the-world-hate-haredi-jews/ • RCBC Draws ‘Boundary Line’ on Women Rabbis http://www.jewishlinknj.com/editorials/29334-rcbc-draws-boundary-line-on-women-rabbis • Infanticide Becomes Justifiable https://www.firstthings.com/web-exclusives/2019/02/infanticide-becomes-justifiable • Stop Asking For Pictures Of My Daughter https://www.jewishpress.com/indepth/opinions/stop-asking-for-pictures-of-my-daughter/2019/02/06/ • Kosher Crops (sans bugs) aims to ...

Read More »

Daily Reyd

• Crown Heights Jews Feel ‘Invisible’ As Anti-Semitic Attacks Persist https://forward.com/news/national/418626/anti-semitic-attack-brooklyn-hasidic-chabad/ • They knew the rules but never thought they’d get this far – This band of musicians with disabilities wanted to represent Israel at Eurovision. Their Sabbath observance became a problem https://www.jta.org/2019/02/05/culture/this-band-of-musicians-with-disabilities-wanted-to-represent-israel-at-eurovision-their-sabbath-observance-became-a-problem • “Deeply rooted”? I’m not convinced – Finding a Right to Privacy in Halakhah https://mosaicmagazine.com/picks/2019/02/finding-a-right-to-privacy-in-halakhah/

Read More »