The Blatt

Daily Reyd

• R M Hauer – Thanksgiving was established during an American crisis. Then and now, Judaism teaches us to be grateful. https://www.jta.org/2020/11/25/opinion/thanksgiving-was-established-during-an-american-crisis-then-and-now-judaism-teaches-us-to-be-grateful • I still recommend davening at home – US Supreme Court blocks coronavirus limitations on New York synagogues https://www.timesofisrael.com/us-supreme-court-blocks-coronavirus-limitations-on-new-york-synagogues/ • M Feldstein – The Empty Pages of Our Guest Book https://jewishlink.news//features/40727-the-empty-pages-of-our-guest-book • It is in the nature of the yetzer ...

Read More »

Daily Reyd

• J Frager – A Song of Gratitude https://www.jns.org/opinion/a-song-of-gratitude/ • Y Hoffman – Ivanka Trump in the News and Halachah http://www.5tjt.com/ivanka-trump-in-the-news-and-halachah/ • Watch: HaGaon HaRav Baruch Mordechai Ezrachi: “Zoom Is Also For The Good!” https://www.theyeshivaworld.com/news/headlines-breaking-stories/1921928/watch-hagaon-harav-baruch-mordechai-ezrachi-zoom-is-also-for-the-good.html  

Read More »

Daily Reyd

• S Zuckier – American Orthodoxy’s Twilight of Authority https://mosaicmagazine.com/observation/religion-holidays/2020/11/american-orthodoxys-twilight-of-authority/ • The Orthodox case against Cuomo’s COVID-19 rules is getting stronger — because of his own remarks https://forward.com/news/458892/the-orthodox-legal-arguments-against-cuomos-covid-19-restrictions-are/ • J Gross – Hadran massechet Eruvin – Introducing The Laser Eruv! http://amerabbica.blogspot.com/2013/06/hadran-massechet-eruvin-introducing.html • D Bashevkin – Make America an ‘Eruv’ Again https://www.tabletmag.com/sections/belief/articles/make-america-an-eruv-again  

Read More »

Daily Reyd

• R M Twersky – Ro’eh Es Ha-Nolad (On the importance of foresight during this pandemic) http://www.torahweb.org/torah/docs/rtwe_roeh-es-hanolad.pdf • Orthodox group asks Supreme Court, with its new conservative majority, to block restrictions on synagogues https://www.jta.org/2020/11/18/politics/orthodox-group-asks-supreme-court-with-its-new-conservative-majority-to-block-restrictions-on-synagogues • Prominent Rabbi Criticized For Speaking With Reform Leaders https://www.jewishpress.com/blogs/felafel-on-rye/prominent-rabbi-criticized-for-speaking-with-reform-leaders/2020/11/19/ • Rav Soloveitchik on Toldos (video) https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t9DF-QIZ058&t=15s&ab_channel=OhrPublishing • Big shuls (lehavdil) with multiple minyanim – US Megachurches Are Getting Bigger and ...

Read More »

Daily Reyd

• Gen Z more likely to say faith is important during pandemic poll https://www.christianpost.com/news/gen-z-more-likely-to-say-faith-is-important-during-pandemic-poll.html • Post-Shabbat Chassidic Gathering Becomes World’s Longest Zoom Event https://www.chabad.org/news/article_cdo/aid/4942310/jewish/Post-Shabbat-Chassidic-Gathering-Becomes-Worlds-Longest-Zoom-Event.htm • N Diament – A Eulogy for Rabbi Jonathan Sacks: Teaching us how to take on the world https://thelehrhaus.com/commentary/a-eulogy-for-rabbi-jonathan-sacks-teaching-us-how-to-take-on-the-world/ • E Brown – When scholars die https://blogs.timesofisrael.com/when-scholars-die/  

Read More »

Daily Reyd

• After a long delay, New York State revives debate over secular education requirements in yeshivas https://forward.com/fast-forward/458630/after-a-long-delay-new-york-state-revives-debate-over-secular-education/ • Legal challenge to sex education policy https://www.thejc.com/education/education-news/legal-challenge-to-sex-education-policy-1.508733 • Rabbi Dr. Ari Lamm: Want to feel better about our election? Learn these lessons from the Bible https://www.foxnews.com/opinion/rabbi-dr-ari-lamm-want-to-feel-better-about-our-election-learn-these-lessons-from-the-bible • ‘It was the honour of our lives to work for Rabbi Lord Sacks’ https://jewishnews.timesofisrael.com/it-was-the-honour-of-our-lives-to-work-for-rabbi-lord-sacks/ • How to deal with scathing criticism – J ...

Read More »

Books Received

The Principles of Judaism by Samuel Lebens (Oxford University Press) Ask Rabbi Jack by R. Jack Abramowitz (Kodesh Press) Talmud on the Mind: Exploring Chazal and Practical Psychology to Lead a Better Life by R. Dr. Ethan Eisen (Kodesh Press)

Read More »

Daily Reyd

• R D Brofsky – The Crisis of Israeli Religious Identity https://mosaicmagazine.com/response/jewish-world/2020/11/the-crisis-of-israeli-religious-identity/ • R M Soloveichik – What Gentiles Can Learn From Lord Sacks https://www.wsj.com/articles/what-gentiles-can-learn-from-lord-sacks-11605221911 • R D Perez – Unity, Mizrachi, and the legacy of Rabbi Sacks https://www.jpost.com/opinion/unity-mizrachi-and-the-legacy-of-rabbi-sacks-649204

Read More »

Daily Reyd

• S Bechhofer – Hosting Illegal Yeshiva in his Basement – Response https://blogs.timesofisrael.com/hosting-illegal-yeshiva-in-his-basement-response/ • C Weissman – What Makes A Rabbi Orthodox? https://www.jewishpress.com/indepth/opinions/what-makes-a-rabbi-orthodox/2020/11/12/ • Predicted divorce surge during COVID didn’t happen https://www.christianpost.com/voices/predicted-divorce-surge-during-covid-didnt-happen.html • European Jewish leaders seek Israeli help against assimilation https://m.jpost.com/diaspora/european-jewish-leaders-seek-israeli-help-against-assimilation-648918/amp A few more tributes to Rabbi Sacks that I found personally interesting: • Y Schochet – Rabbi Sacks: The Great Man I Knew https://www.jewishpress.com/news/obituaries/rabbi-sacks-the-great-man-i-knew/2020/11/11/ • E ...

Read More »