The Blatt

Daily Reyd

• Is It Anti-Semitism, Or NIMBYism? Lawsuits Multiply As Towns Struggle With Growing Orthodox Population https://forward.com/news/national/436025/new-jersey-new-york-anti-semitism-orthodox-suburbs-lawsuits-rluipa/ • Note the disclaimer at the beginning – A Man on a Kosher Mission: GE Appliances president and CEO Kevin Nolan is going out of his way to assist Jews with Shabbos observance https://oukosher.org/blog/articles/a-man-on-a-kosher-mission-ge-appliances-president-and-ceo-kevin-nolan-is-going-out-of-his-way-to-assist-jews-with-shabbos-observance/ • Mental health is a growing issue with the younger ...

Read More »

Daily Reyd

• The issues with AI are greater than whether we can use it on Shabbos – Algorithm Religion | John Waters https://www.firstthings.com/web-exclusives/2019/12/algorithm-religion • This explains a lot – Israeli army inflated numbers of haredi Orthodox recruits https://www.jta.org/quick-reads/israeli-army-inflated-numbers-of-haredi-orthodox-recruits • European Jewish practice under threat, says Moscow chief rabbi https://www.jpost.com/Diaspora/Antisemitism/European-Jewish-practice-under-threat-says-Moscow-chief-rabbi-609514

Read More »

Daily Reyd

• Y Adlerstein – How to Deal With Heresy Without Raising Your Blood Pressure https://cross-currents.com/2019/12/02/how-to-deal-with-heresy-without-raising-your-blood-pressure/ • M Lichtenstein – Further On A Forged Letter of Rabbi Joseph B. Soloveitchik https://seforimblog.com/2019/12/further-on-a-forged-letter-of-rabbi-joseph-b-soloveitchik/ • Admission of Civil Liability in Jewish Law | Beth Din of America https://bethdin.org/admission-of-civil-liability-in-jewish-law/

Read More »

Daily Reyd

• Rabbi Greer Headed To Prison | New Haven Independent https://www.newhavenindependent.org/index.php/archives/entry/greer_sentencingmonday/ • G Perl – A Modern Orthodox Hedgehog for a Postmodern World https://thelehrhaus.com/commentary/a-modern-orthodox-hedgehog-for-a-postmodern-world/

Read More »

Daily Reyd

• R E Melamed – Bringing Kashrut issues to every home http://www.israelnationalnews.com/Articles/Article.aspx/24812 • A project that helps formerly ultra-Orthodox Jews find their place in the Jewish world https://www.jta.org/2019/11/29/opinion/a-project-that-helps-formerly-ultra-orthodox-jews-find-their-place-in-the-jewish-world • S Gotlib – An open letter to Modern Orthodoxy https://blogs.timesofisrael.com/an-open-letter-to-modern-orthodoxy/

Read More »

Daily Reyd

• D Fischer – Modern Orthodoxy Has A College Problem https://www.jewishpress.com/indepth/opinions/modern-orthodoxy-has-a-college-problem/2019/11/28/ • J Abramowitz – What is the Torah View of Marijuana Use? http://jewinthecity.com/2019/11/what-is-the-torah-view-of-marijuana-use/ • Collection of Bergen-Belsen ‘agunot’ rabbinic rulings to be auctioned off https://www.jpost.com/Diaspora/Collection-of-Bergen-Belsen-agunot-rabbinic-rulings-to-be-auctioned-off-609202 • We need to think hard about the costs of these kinds of measures – E Eisen – Preventing sexual exploitation in our schools ...

Read More »

Daily Reyd

• Is this unprecedented in all history? – Labour has let poison of antisemitism take root, says chief rabbi http://www.theguardian.com/politics/2019/nov/25/labour-has-let-poison-of-antisemitism-take-root-says-chief-rabbi

Read More »

Daily Reyd

• Sad that a rabbi has to justify introducing the President. Sign of the polarized times https://mishpacha.com/a-blessing-on-his-head/ • Leading haredi rabbis to European Jews: Don’t stand out http://www.israelnationalnews.com/News/News.aspx/272250 • Title IX Trouble for Fuller Seminary | Carl R. Trueman https://www.firstthings.com/web-exclusives/2019/11/title-ix-trouble-for-fuller-seminary

Read More »

Daily Reyd

• Pastors & Burnout: A Personal Reflection https://www.christianitytoday.com/edstetzer/2019/november/pastors-burnout-personal-reflection.html • No, no, no. This thinking is completely focused on the mother rather than on the child – The case for Halachic donor conception https://blogs.timesofisrael.com/the-case-for-halachic-donor-conception/ • ‘Woodstock meets the Bible’ as tens of thousands flock to Hebron for Chayei Sarah pilgrimage https://www.jns.org/woodstock-meets-the-bible-as-tens-of-thousands-flock-to-hebron-for-chayei-sarah-pilgrimage/ • Jewish Families Considering Leaving NYC Weigh Options https://www.ny1.com/nyc/all-boroughs/news/2019/11/25/jewish-kosher-home-and-job-relocation-fair

Read More »

Daily Reyd

• R S Pruzansky – The First Modern Orthodox Jew: Two Models http://jewishlinknj.com/features/34575-the-first-modern-orthodox-jew-two-models • By a YU undergrad – Why We Must Acknowledge Carlebach’s Sexual Abuses https://yucommentator.org/2019/11/why-we-must-acknowledge-carlebachs-sexual-abuses/ • ‘Screenagers’ Presentation Draws Close to 1,000 Parents http://jewishlinknj.com/features/34518-screenagers-presentation-draws-close-to-1-000-parents • Keep in mind that R. Alexander Altmann served as a dayan in Manchester – Punctuality, Mendelssohn, and Nihilism: Remembering Alexander Altmann https://jewishreviewofbooks.com/articles/5683/punctuality-mendelssohn-and-nihilism-remembering-alexander-altmann/

Read More »