The Blatt

Daily Reyd

• B Blech – Survivor’s Guilt: Covid, The Holocaust, and Sinai https://www.aish.com/h/sh/t/Survivors-Guilt-Covid-The-Holocaust-and-Sinai.html • A Holzer – Akdamut: An Alphabet of Eleventh-Century Ashkenaz https://traditiononline.org/akdamut-an-alphabet-of-eleventh-century-ashkenaz-2/ • S Zuckier – The Pandemic Theology Dilemma: Preserve Normalcy or Embrace Crisis? https://www.thelehrhaus.com/commentary/the-pandemic-theology-dilemma-preserve-normalcy-or-embrace-crisis/ • Rare Color Photos of Jerusalem during the Siege in 1948 https://mosaicmagazine.com/picks/history-ideas/2021/05/rare-color-photos-of-jerusalem-during-the-siege-in-1948/  

Read More »

Daily Reyd

• N Diament – America’s Jewish communities are under attack — Here are 3 things Congress can do https://thehill.com/blogs/congress-blog/homeland-security/552066-americas-jewish-communities-are-under-attack-here-are-3 • Y Adlerstein – From Yom Yerushalayim to Meron https://cross-currents.com/2021/05/10/from-yom-yerushalayim-to-meron/ • A Christian discusses the various studies on the effectiveness of prayer – How Much Does Prayer Weigh? https://www.christianitytoday.com/ct/2021/may-web-only/prayer-science-psychology-research-methodology.html  

Read More »

Daily Reyd

• D Fischer – To Be A Rav – With Principles https://www.jewishpress.com/indepth/opinions/to-be-a-rav-with-principles/2021/05/06/ • A Gordimer – Israeli Modern Orthodoxy and Female Clergy – Crossing the Line https://cross-currents.com/2021/05/06/israeli-modern-orthodoxy-and-female-clergy-crossing-the-line/ • H Abramson – The Jewish Role in Medieval Commerce and Finance https://mosaicmagazine.com/picks/history-ideas/2021/05/the-jewish-role-in-medieval-commerce-and-finance/ • Decrying ‘social justice ideology,’ 49 people sign ‘Jewish Harper’s letter’ https://www.jta.org/quick-reads/decrying-social-justice-ideology-49-people-sign-jewish-harpers-letter • Wealthy corporations back Equality Act stripped of religious freedom protections https://www.catholicnewsagency.com/news/247520/wealthy-corporations-back-equality-act-stripped-of-religious-freedom-protections

Read More »

Daily Reyd

• Orthodox Jewish Groups Come Together for Nat’l Mental Health Awareness Month https://thejewishvoice.com/2021/05/orthodox-jewish-groups-come-together-for-natl-mental-health-awareness-month/ • New York courts prove that woke politics endangers Jews https://www.jns.org/opinion/new-york-courts-prove-that-woke-politics-endangers-jews/ • I can’t speak to the legal issues but from a moral perspective, if those are the extent of the complaints against YU then they are very limited in scope – ‘Second class citizens’: LGBTQ students allege culture ...

Read More »

Daily Reyd

• Resources on the Lag B’Omer Meron Tragedy http://nleresources.com/2021/05/resources-on-the-lag-bomer-meron-tragedy/ • R S Brody – Reclaiming Biblical Social Justice https://sapirjournal.org/social-justice/2021/05/reclaiming-biblical-social-justice/ • A lawyer who is also an ordained rabbi – Judicial Ethics Opinion 20-209 | New York Law Journal https://www.law.com/newyorklawjournal/2021/05/04/judicial-ethics-opinion-20-209/ • I didn’t go to shul for a long time but strictly kept to a standard prayer and learning schedule – What ...

Read More »

Daily Reyd

• R A Shafran – Hasidim, yeshivas and the truth https://www.nydailynews.com/opinion/ny-oped-hasidim-yeshivas-and-the-truth-20210502-pyuxngn3hje23cnfejapdtwmfa-story.html • L Schiffman – Judean Desert Texts: What is their significance? https://m.jpost.com/jerusalem-report/judean-desert-texts-what-is-their-significance-665733 • Jewish Studies — A Talmid’s Testimonial https://yucommentator.org/2021/05/jewish-studies-a-talmids-testimonial/ • America’s Only Ballpark Synagogue https://www.newyorker.com/sports/sporting-scene/americas-only-ballpark-synagogue  

Read More »

Daily Reyd

• Y Hoffman – Understanding the Alter of Slabodka’s Concept of “the Greatness of Man” http://www.5tjt.com/understanding-the-alter-of-slabodkas-concept-of-the-greatness-of-man/ • Rabbi Elliot Schrier Named Mara D’Atra of Bnai Yeshurun https://jewishlink.news//community-news/bergen/43579-rabbi-elliot-schrier-named-mara-d-atra-of-bnai-yeshurun • Rabbi Chaim Strauchler To Take the Helm at Rinat https://jewishlink.news//community-news/bergen/43580-rabbi-chaim-strauchler-to-take-the-helm-at-rinat  

Read More »

Daily Reyd

• A ‘big Jewish tent’ is incompatible with cancel culture https://www.jns.org/opinion/a-big-jewish-tent-is-incompatible-with-cancel-culture/ • No, no, no. Learn from Chabad and make it cheap and convenient https://www.jns.org/opinion/the-crisis-and-opportunity-in-jewish-early-childhood-education/ • From the article: “The Masorti Movement in Israel also welcomed the news…” In Israeli first, woman chosen as sole spiritual leader of Orthodox community https://www.timesofisrael.com/in-israeli-first-woman-chosen-as-sole-spiritual-leader-of-orthodox-community/ • In Spain, an Archeologist Discovers Trace of King Solomon’s Commercial ...

Read More »

Daily Reyd

• R M Twersky – Living a Religiously Authentic and Consistent Life in a Politically Correct and Diverse World http://torahweb.org/audio/rtwe_042521.html • Very well said – R J Kerbel – Why I am a Modern Orthodox Rabbi https://blogs.timesofisrael.com/why-i-am-a-modern-orthodox-rabbi/ • LGBTQ students sue Yeshiva University for discrimination https://www.timesofisrael.com/lgbtq-students-sue-yeshiva-university-for-discrimination/ • Jackson Township Officials ‘Weaponized’ Zoning Laws To Suppress Orthodox Jews, State Charges https://dailyvoice.com/new-jersey/ocean/news/jackson-township-officials-weaponized-zoning-laws-to-suppress-orthodox-jews-state-charges/807812/  

Read More »

Daily Reyd

• R M Rosensweig – Reflections on Racism and Social Divisiveness https://traditiononline.org/reflections-on-racism-and-social-divisiveness/ • Was King Solomon the ancient world’s first shipping magnate? http://www.theguardian.com/science/2021/apr/25/was-king-solomon-the-ancient-worlds-first-shipping-magnate • Virginia GOP alters rules to allow observant Jews to vote in primary convention https://jewishinsider.com/2021/04/virginia-republican-party-observant-jews-nominating-convention/ • Jews of Portugal and their recent rebirth https://www.jns.org/jews-of-portugal-and-their-recent-rebirth/ • Will medical professionals be forced to perform transgender surgeries? https://www.christianpost.com/voices/will-medical-professionals-be-forced-to-perform-transgender-surgeries.html  

Read More »