News

Daily Reyd

• Rav Ahron Soloveichik, Medieval Christianity, And Academic Ignorance” An Interview with Eminent Historian Dr. David Berger https://www.jewishpress.com/indepth/interviews-and-profiles/rav-ahron-soloveichik-medieval-christianity-and-academic-ignorance-an-interview-with-eminent-historian-dr-david-berger/2020/07/16/ • Should We Have Hechsherim on Hechsherim? https://www.theyeshivaworld.com/news/headlines-breaking-stories/1883049/should-we-have-hechsherim-on-hechsherim.html

Read More »

Daily Reyd

• I did not know that NYC repealed its ban on Conversion Therapy – NYC pays $100K in damages over former ban on gay ‘conversion therapy’ https://www.christianpost.com/news/nyc-pays-100k-in-damages-over-former-ban-on-gay-conversion-therapy.html • For the first time, foie gras gets glatt-kosher stamp https://www.clevelandjewishnews.com/jns/for-the-first-time-foie-gras-gets-glatt-kosher-stamp/article_de06983b-e701-55a1-812e-a62c5db9bb46.html • The forgotten history of Jews in the alcohol industry https://www.timesofisrael.com/the-forgotten-history-of-jews-in-the-alcohol-industry/

Read More »

Daily Reyd

• R S Carmy – Solitary Prayer | Shalom Carmy https://www.firstthings.com/article/2020/08/solitary-prayer • R N Hoff – 5 Areas Where Educators Need Support Right Now: Part I http://nleresources.com/2020/07/5-areas-where-educators-need-support-right-now-part-i/ • Jewish day schools still don’t know if they’ll reopen — and it’s driving parents crazy. https://forward.com/news/450769/jewish-day-schools-reopening-plans-for-the-fall-coronavirus/ • Ukraine bans annual Rosh Hashanah pilgrimage to Uman over coronavirus pandemic – Jewish Telegraphic Agency ...

Read More »

Daily Reyd

• R J Sacks on R N Rabinovitch – No One Will Change Your Life Like a Teacher https://www.algemeiner.com/2020/07/14/no-one-will-change-your-life-like-a-teacher/ • Chief Rabbi: Stigma around mental health in the community ‘pains me enormously’ https://jewishnews.timesofisrael.com/chief-rabbi-stigma-around-mental-health-in-the-community-pains-me-enormously/ • A boon to Jewish Education from the US Supreme Court https://www.israelnationalnews.com/News/News.aspx/283520 • I have conflicting feelings about this. It’s a great mitzvah but do other charities lose out because of this ...

Read More »

Daily Reyd

• Modesty or Travesty? http://www.rationalistjudaism.com/2020/07/guest-post-modesty-or-travesty.html • UK interfaith friends develop app to help tamp virus spread in houses of worship https://www.timesofisrael.com/uk-interfaith-friends-develop-app-to-help-tamp-virus-spread-in-houses-of-worship/ • NY to Discuss Reopening School; Virus Cases ‘Low and Stable’ https://hamodia.com/2020/07/12/ny-discuss-reopening-school-virus-cases-low-stable/

Read More »

Daily Reyd

• Jewish groups react to Supreme Court ruling protecting religious freedoms in hiring https://www.jns.org/jewish-groups-react-to-supreme-court-ruling-protecting-religious-freedoms-in-hiring/ • 650 out of 3 million – Churches, Coronavirus, and the New York Times https://www.christianitytoday.com/edstetzer/2020/july/churches-coronavirus-new-york-times-churches-are-taking.html • R J Sacks – Lessons From Pinchas For The Coronavirus https://www.jewishpress.com/judaism/jewish-columns/rabbi-lord-jonathan-sacks/lessons-from-pinchas-for-the-coronavirus/2020/07/09/ • Yasher Koach To Julius Berman https://www.jewishpress.com/indepth/editorial/yasher-koach-to-julius-berman/2020/07/08/

Read More »

Daily Reyd

• Rav Soloveitchik – The Appointment of Yehoshua and the Meaning of Mesorah https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wRpIVkPByKw&feature=youtu.be • Why Do Israelis Have So Many Words for “Wear,” and Which One Applies to Wearing One’s Coronavirus Face Mask? https://mosaicmagazine.com/observation/history-ideas/2020/07/why-do-israelis-have-so-many-words-for-wear-and-which-one-applies-to-wearing-ones-coronavirus-face-mask/ • I’m not sure the headline is completely accurate – “OTS” Begins To Certify Orthodox “Moraot Hora’ah” In Wake of AG’s Decision Allowing Women To Be Rabbis https://www.theyeshivaworld.com/news/headlines-breaking-stories/1880441/ots-begins-to-certify-orthodox-moraot-horaah-in-wake-of-ags-decision-allowing-women-to-be-rabbis.html • Rabbis Call ...

Read More »

Daily Reyd

• The Coronavirus Is Killing Off American Jewish Institutional Life https://www.tabletmag.com/sections/news/articles/coronavirus-jewish-institutional-life • We need to focus on today’s anti-semitism and not memories of centuries ago that mean something different to people today – In Defense of King Louis IX https://www.firstthings.com/web-exclusives/2020/07/in-defense-of-king-louis-ix • Murder, Inc. is now Murder, MD – The Deadly “Quality of Life” Ethic https://www.firstthings.com/web-exclusives/2020/07/the-deadly-quality-of-life-ethic • Despite his young age, a gay graduate ...

Read More »

Daily Reyd

• Gedolei HaDor Write Special Letter Addressing Rise of Virus Cases In Israel https://www.theyeshivaworld.com/news/israel-news/1877992/gedolei-hador-write-special-letter-addressing-rise-of-virus-cases-in-israel.html • Y Menken – Judaism is emphatically ‘pro-life’ https://www.newsweek.com/judaism-emphatically-pro-life-opinion-1514868 • Chief Rabbinate Threatens to Halt Semichah If Forced to Train Women https://hamodia.com/2020/07/05/chief-rabbinate-threatens-halt-semichah-forced-train-women/ • The Orthodox Jews of Brooklyn Are Alone in the World https://www.americanthinker.com/articles/2020/07/the_orthodox_jews_of_brooklyn_are_alone_in_the_world.html

Read More »

Daily Reyd

• R A Shafran – A Supreme Court decision just exposed how liberal Jewish groups abandoned Jewish education https://forward.com/opinion/450065/a-supreme-court-decision-just-exposed-how-liberal-jewish-groups-abandoned/ • On Public Purposes of Private Schools https://mosaicmagazine.com/observation/history-ideas/2020/07/on-public-purposes-of-private-schools/ • Young Israel Condemns Anti-Semitism at Black Lives Matter March <a href=https://youngisrael.org/us-news/young-israel-condemns-anti-semitism-at-black-lives-matter-march/”>https://youngisrael.org/us-news/young-israel-condemns-anti-semitism-at-black-lives-matter-march/

Read More »