News

Daily Reyd

• We can only hope – The Israel Defense Forces is becoming ‘God’s army,’ warns Lieberman https://www.jns.org/the-idf-is-becoming-gods-army-warns-lieberman/ • France reopens Jerusalem’s Tomb of the Kings to public https://www.timesofisrael.com/liveblog-october-24-2019/ • Readers: Can You Help Us Find This Rabbi? https://www.jewishpress.com/blogs/my-right-word/readers-can-you-help-us-find-this-rabbi/2019/10/23/ • Soft anti-Semitism – We Hasidim Aren’t Aliens. And We’re Tired Of The Media Acting Like It. https://forward.com/life/433364/we-hasidim-arent-aliens-and-were-tired-of-the-media-acting-like-it/ • Will There be ...

Read More »

Daily Reyd

• 5,000 Christians show their support for Israel at Jerusalem’s 64th Sukkot march https://www.jns.org/5000-christians-show-their-support-for-israel-at-jerusalems-64th-sukkot-march/ • Interview with C Waxman – How America’s Orthodox Jews became Trump supporters https://www.haaretz.com/us-news/.premium-how-america-s-orthodox-jews-became-trump-supporters-1.8004449 • First Ever Sukkah at the White House https://collive.com/first-ever-sukkah-at-the-white-house/ • Opposition within ultra-Orthodox Ger sect declares historic split https://www.haaretz.com/israel-news/.premium-opposition-within-ger-hasidim-declares-historic-split-1.8016767 • Y Adlerstein – A Game-Changing Yom Kippur Sermon https://cross-currents.com/2019/10/18/a-game-changing-yom-kippur-sermo/ • Not your ...

Read More »

Daily Reyd

• Rebbitzens also – The Perilous Power of the Preacher’s Wife https://www.nytimes.com/2019/10/12/opinion/sunday/evangelical-preachers-pastors.html • A Schmidman – Creating meaningful opportunities for women on Simchat Torah https://www.jns.org/opinion/creating-meaningful-opportunities-for-women-on-simchat-torah-morning/ • Rabbis and psychology – Rabbis, be cautious with your advice and pronouncements https://www.jpost.com/Magazine/Rabbis-be-cautious-with-your-advice-and-pronouncements-605013 • Globetrotting ‘Millennial Rabbi’ uses Insta-fame to click with younger Jews https://www.timesofisrael.com/globetrotting-millennial-rabbi-uses-insta-fame-to-click-with-younger-jews/ • B Goldman – Heavenly Winks: When Hashem Carried ...

Read More »

Daily Reyd

• Avital CG – ‘Made In China’ Finds The Orthodox Wig Industry https://forward.com/life/faith/431417/made-in-china-finds-the-orthodox-wig-industry/ • OU’s Simchat Torah Program for Women https://jewishjournal.com/news/los_angeles/community/305782/ous-simchat-torah-program-for-women/ • A deeply troubled man – How Hasidic rabbis helped an Orthodox father of six become true to herself https://www.timesofisrael.com/how-hasidic-rabbis-helped-an-orthodox-father-of-six-become-a-transgender-woman/ • The 90-year-old American Blood Libel That Speaks Loudly To Today https://jewishweek.timesofisrael.com/the-90-year-old-american-blood-libel-that-speaks-loudly-to-today/

Read More »

Daily Reyd

• Chief rabbi says Israel has ‘moral duty’ to help Kurds https://www.timesofisrael.com/liveblog_entry/chief-rabbi-says-israel-has-moral-duty-to-help-kurds/ • R M Schapiro – When Technology Meets Theology – Yeshiva University News https://blogs.yu.edu/news/when-technology-meets-theology/ • R S Carmy – Intellectual Property: Legal Right is Not Moral Right – Yeshiva University News https://blogs.yu.edu/news/intellectual-property-legal-right-is-not-moral-right/ • Jewish prisoners in Michigan will get certified kosher meals under proposed settlement https://www.jta.org/quick-reads/michigan • H ...

Read More »

Daily Reyd

• R DZ Feldman – IP Halakhah https://blogs.yu.edu/news/ip-halakhah/ • R A Males – Singing the Hadassim Blues in Memphis | Everyday Jewish Living | OU Life https://www.ou.org/life/holidays/sukkot/singing-the-hadassim-blues-in-memphis/ • R E Krakowski – What Did the Rabbis Have to Say About Anti-Semitism? https://jewishaction.com/jewish-world/what-did-the-rabbis-have-to-say-about-anti-semitism/ • R Z Eleff – Youth and the YU Idea https://yucommentator.org/2019/10/youth-and-the-yu-idea/ • R A Lamm – Israel’s Political ...

Read More »

Daily Reyd

• SCOTUS Considers Religious Liberty-LGBT Rights Balance https://www.christianitytoday.com/news/2019/october/scotus-lgbt-rights-religious-liberty-bostock-zarda-harris.html • Troublesome development. Always buy a mezuzah with a good hechsher – The ranks of women serving as soferot, or female scribes who write holy texts, grows https://www.jewishexponent.com/2019/10/08/the-growing-ranks-of-female-scribes/ • F Nataf – Time for a crash course on religious toleration https://blogs.timesofisrael.com/time-for-a-crash-course-on-religious-toleration/ • Tea lights – Responsum: Best to light electric candles in ...

Read More »

Daily Reyd

• Why YU Needs a Rosh Yeshiva https://yucommentator.org/2019/10/why-yu-needs-a-rosh-yeshiva/ • Working for JOFA – Second Orthodox woman rabbi takes teaching role in London https://www.thejc.com/news/uk-news/second-orthodox-woman-rabbi-takes-teaching-role-in-london-1.489845 • Can we keep Trump out of Yom Kippur? https://www.jns.org/opinion/can-we-keep-trump-out-of-yom-kippur/ • Some 68,000 secular and religious Israelis to pray together on Yom Kippur – Jewish Telegraphic Agency https://www.jta.org/quick-reads/some-68000-secular-and-religious-israelis-to-pray-together-on-yom-kippur • Civil Court Can’t Decide What “Torah Law” Means, ...

Read More »

Daily Reyd

• I’ve been saying this for years. Women not counting for a minyan cannot and will not stand among the Open Orthodox – Tenth for a minyan https://blogs.timesofisrael.com/tenth-for-a-minyan/ • I’m not sure whether this is good or bad – Rabbinate DNA tests seek Jewishness in the blood, become a bone of contention https://www.timesofisrael.com/rabbinate-dna-tests-seek-jewishness-in-the-blood-become-a-bone-of-contention/ • One non-Orthodox rabbi’s idiosyncratic views on ...

Read More »

Daily Reyd

• D Bashevkin in WSJ – #MeToo Should Include #SinToo https://www.wsj.com/articles/metoo-should-include-sintoo-11570142981 • Technology Lessons From Recent Headlines http://www.jewishlinknj.com/features/33656-technology-lessons-from-recent-headlines • The idea that God — or someone — is always watching comes to life with technology https://religionnews.com/2019/10/03/the-idea-that-god-or-someone-is-always-watching-comes-to-life-with-technology/ • A Home Smart System That Helps With Religious Observances https://www.wsj.com/articles/a-home-smart-system-that-helps-with-religious-observances-11570026331 • Porn Culture and Political Courage | Terry Schilling https://www.firstthings.com/web-exclusives/2019/10/porn-culture-and-political-courage • A Folger ...

Read More »