Author Archives: Gil Student

Rabbi Gil Student is the Publisher and Editor-in-Chief of TorahMusings.com, a leading website on Orthodox Jewish scholarly subjects, and the Book Editor of the Orthodox Union’s Jewish Action magazine. He writes a popular column on issues of Jewish law and thought featured in newspapers and magazines, including The Jewish Link, The Jewish Echo and The Vues. In the past, he has served as the President of the small Jewish publisher Yashar Books and as the Managing Editor of OU Press. Rabbi Student serves on the Executive Committee of the Rabbinical Council of America and as Director of the Halacha Commission of the Rabbinical Alliance of America. He also serves on the Editorial Boards of Jewish Action magazine, the Journal of Halacha and Contemporary Society and the Achieve Journal of Behavioral Health, Religion & Community, as well as the Board of OU Press. He has published five English books, the most recent titled Search Engine volume 2: Finding Meaning in Jewish Texts -- Jewish Leadership, and served as the American editor for Morasha Kehillat Yaakov: Essays in Honour of Chief Rabbi Lord Jonathan Sacks.

Daily Reyd

• Orthodox Judaism and the Pandemic: How Religion Affects Response https://elemental.medium.com/orthodox-judaism-and-the-pandemic-how-religion-affects-response-31edea97fb8f • This is very important – America needs healing, not more partisan warfare https://www.jns.org/opinion/america-needs-healing-not-more-partisan-warfare/ • The ongoing transformation of Jewish media – JTA’s parent company acquires the NY Jewish Week https://www.jta.org/2021/01/11/united-states/jtas-parent-company-acquires-the-ny-jewish-week/ • The Long Journey Home of Ethiopian Jewry http://www.5tjt.com/the-long-journey-home-of-ethiopian-jewry/

Read More »

Daily Reyd

• Clean Hands by Shalom Carmy https://www.firstthings.com/article/2021/01/clean-hands • IMPORTANT – READ THIS: Should We Be Leaving WhatsApp? https://www.theyeshivaworld.com/news/headlines-breaking-stories/1937297/important-read-this-should-we-be-leaving-whatsapp.html • Why Data Matters: A Conversation with Social Scientist Matt Williams https://jewishaction.com/jewish-world/why-data-matters-a-conversation-with-social-scientist-matt-williams/

Read More »

Private Eruvin and Emergency Keys

by R. Gil Student Many people have their own private eruvin, structures that allow them to carry on Shabbos. They do this with one or more neighbors by ensuring the area is closed, whether by gates, walls or doorway-like structures — a complicated matter that requires rabbinic oversight or approval. Additionally, they keep food for two communal meals, usually matzah, ...

Read More »

Living Halachically, And Mathematically, During This Pandemic

by R. Gil Student I usually enjoy Rabbi Chananya Weissman’s opinion pieces, whether I agree with him or not. His latest article, however – “Herd Immunity or Herd Insanity?” (The Jewish Press, January 1) – sadly misfires. Rabbi Weissman claims that if you don’t shake hands with others and kiss the Torah in an outdoors minyan, you are a paranoid hypochondriac. ...

Read More »

Daily Reyd

• A student reflects on the influence and methodology of Rav Yehuda Herzl Henkin – Initial Thoughts on R. Henkin as Posek https://traditiononline.org/initial-thoughts-on-r-henkin-as-posek/ • Y Hoffman – The Attack on the Capital and Halacha https://vosizneias.com/2021/01/07/the-attack-on-the-capital-and-halacha/ • The left eats its own – Another kind of pain… calling out Rabbi Avi Weiss https://blogs.timesofisrael.com/another-kind-of-pain-calling-out-rabbi-avi-weiss/ • P Lerner – My Thoughts About Jonathan Pollard https://www.jewishpress.com/indepth/opinions/my-thoughts-about-jonathan-pollard/2021/01/07/ • Rabbi Kanievsky calls for ultra-Orthodox ...

Read More »

Daily Reyd

• N Lewin – Religious observance redux https://www.jns.org/opinion/religious-observance-redux/ • How ancient Jewish law has influenced pedestrian planning in West Rogers Park https://chi.streetsblog.org/2021/01/05/how-ancient-jewish-law-has-influenced-pedestrian-planning-in-west-rogers-park/ • Vol. 2, No. 1: January 2021 · Reviews in Digital Humanities  https://reviewsindh.pubpub.org/v2-n1

Read More »

New App Features

Last year, we released the free Torah Musings app for iOS and Android devices (announcement). We have started adding more features. You can now access a selection of video and audio shiurim on their respective tabs on the app (these are not available on the Torah Musings website). More features to come… Usage note: To refresh tabs in the app, ...

Read More »

Daily Reyd

• Dr E Brown – Friendship After COVID https://www.firstthings.com/web-exclusives/2021/01/friendship-after-covid • US immigration to Israel holds up in 2020 despite pandemic, and interest is surging https://www.jta.org/2021/01/04/israel/us-immigration-to-israel-holds-up-in-2020-despite-pandemic-and-interest-is-surging • The Age of Anxiety https://jewishaction.com/health/wellness-report/the-age-of-anxiety/

Read More »

Daily Reyd

• R Eis – Kosher Slaughter and True Religious Freedom https://www.firstthings.com/web-exclusives/2021/01/kosher-slaughter-and-true-religious-freedom • When Jewish Women Took to the Streets for Affordable Kosher Meat https://mosaicmagazine.com/picks/history-ideas/2021/01/when-jewish-women-took-to-the-streets-for-affordable-kosher-meat/ • One the sea change in the lives of Israeli Charedi women – “Noble Women”: Matter and Spirit in the Lives of Charedi Women https://iyun.org.il/en/article/the-charedi-noble-woman/ • Counterpoint on the same subject – Keeping Hold of What We’ve Got https://iyun.org.il/en/article/the-charedi-noble-woman/hold-on-to-what-weve-got/

Read More »

Books Received

Illuminating Jewish Thought Vol 1 Faith, Philosophy and Knowledge of God by R. Netanel Wiederblank (Maggid) Exodus: A Parsha Companion by R. David Forhman (Maggid)

Read More »