Audio Roundup 2024:16

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

by Joel Rich

If adam harishon had been given a choice of eating from the eitz hachaim or eitz hadaat, which one should he have picked (pun intended)? Why?

The Rambam in the peirush hamishnayot (Avot 1:16) categorizes types of dibbur. 1. Mtzaveh (commanded) 2. Asur (forbidden) 3. Maus {disgusting} 4. Ahava (beloved) and 5. Mutar (permitted. How do you understand 4 – Is it a mitzvah or an inyan (and the flip for 3)? Is HKBH indifferent in cases of 5.?

Please direct any informal comments to [email protected].

About Joel Rich

Joel Rich is a frequent wannabee cyberspace lecturer on various Torah topics. A Yerushalmi formerly temporarily living in West Orange, NJ, his former employer and the Social Security administration support his Torah listening habits. He is a recovering consulting actuary.

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to our Weekly Newsletter

The latest weekly digest is also available by clicking here.

Subscribe to our Daily Newsletter